• We have upgaded to the latest version of XenForum and the process finished without any errors!!!! Enjoy the new forum!

Ripley's Believe it or not flippers sticking

Haelryan

Oct 2, 2013
CLgary
Hello, just brought home my first pin, a stern ripley's believe it or not. It appears to be in very nice shape but today after a few games the upper right flipper was sticking and then about 5 minutes later the lower left flipper also started sticking. I am new to the hobby, any advice on what the issue is and how best to fix it?

REVOLUTION

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 13, 2012
GTA
www.pinballrevolution.com
start by checking to see if the coils are hot after a few minutes of play. If that's the case, they're swelling and making the sleeve constrict, causing binding. Also see how freely they move by hand.

Haelryan

Oct 2, 2013
CLgary
If the coils are getting hot does that mean they should be replaced? Turns out one of the flipper return springs snapped and i was able to fix it until i get a replacement, upper flipper started working as normal after being off for a few minutes while i did the repair on the lower flipper.

mwong168

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 14, 2012
Toronto
Haelryan said:
If the coils are getting hot does that mean they should be replaced?