1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Captain Fantastic - goes to 4 player automatically

Discussion in 'Pinball Tech Support' started by in2pin, Jul 18, 2020.

  1. in2pin

    in2pin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    When I start the machine and press the credit button once it goes to 4 player.
    Any suggestions, I am hoping it is an easy fix since I am not a repair guy!
    Looking forward to your input.
     
    #1
  2. sylvain

    sylvain Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    Check and confirm that the Player-up unit and Coin unit steppers properly reset to their 'zero' position at game start, e.g. that their ratchets are not mechanically gummed-up, and that all springs are present on those units, so they can return to zero at game start, once their reset coil is activated.
     
    #2
  3. in2pin

    in2pin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    To be honest don’t know what even of what you said means but I will start doing some google research to see if I can find the items you have suggested to check out.
     
    #3
  4. John Price

    John Price New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tottenham ON
     
    #4
  5. John Price

    John Price New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tottenham ON
    Down on the bottom board there are 2 large square units in the center. These units have 2 coils, one coil steps the unit, the other resets it. When you manually push the lever that connects to one coil, you should see the unit move one step each push through 4 positions. When you push the lever on the other coil the unit should freely slide back to the first position. Your machine is not doing that. The probable reason for that is that the unit is dirty. The fix is easy and usually takes half an hour to complete. I've done it a hundred times. Disassemble the wiper arm from the axle and clean those arm contacts and the rivets on the unit with metal polish. Put it back together and manually test it. If the unit resets freely you should be back in business. If it does not, check to see if one of the several springs on the mechanism is broken or missing. Also check the lever mechanism and ratchet disc for excess dirt or grease and clean. A clean unit is a happy unit. If it looks good but still doesn't reset freely, you will need to increase the tension on the large round spring on the axle by moving it a to the next available hole on the ratchet disc. Hope this helps.
     
    #5
  6. in2pin

    in2pin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    Thanks for the detailed reply John!
    Now I just have to find some time to try and look into your suggestions!
     
    #6
  7. Pharoah007

    Pharoah007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Petawawa
    #7

Share This Page